1 Streaming Memes

This WEEK in MEDIA 167: Streaming Memes

January 19, 2010

This week the topics discussed are how the social media is covering the devastation in Haiti and how quickly information is being sent and received. Also covered is the debacle between Jay Leno and Conan O’Brien and how Leno is taking back his time slot. Blockbuster is looking at the possibilities of streaming video online and how Vevo is taking over the video industry that used to belong to MTV.

I know that this podcast is a little old, it was made in early 2010, but I was extremely interested in knowing what these people are saying about Haiti, Vevo and especially about Jay Leno and Conan O’Brien. This was a huge issue for me at the time. We all know what happened, obviously this was over a year ago and time has passed, but this was very big in the media. I have been a huge fan of Coco and tried to support him throughout this whole thing. I really enjoyed learning about how the majority of the people in social networks supported Conan. I know I was one of them. I really dislike Jay and think that his time is over, but then Jay does have an older demographic…so that is definitely something to take into account. However, I would have to agree that Jay’s audience drastically decreased when his time slot changed. Obviously everything worked out, Conan has his own show on TBS which is a little different for him and a little different than what was being anticipated with Conan going to FOX, but at least Conan is back on the air. I am so glad that he decided to not give up on his own show.

It seems that social media is making a much larger impact than I ever thought imaginable. I was on board when Myspace came out and a little confused as to why people were switching to Facebook when it didn’t look as cool, but there is so much more to do on Facebook and now Twitter has become a powerhouse. Information is communicated so quickly it is amazing. The world can know what is going on, the second it is happening. I would agree that this is definitely the future.

Vevo is something that I have just discovered this year. If I would have began listening to these podcasts a year ago, I would be so much more educated. I really discovered what Vevo was just a few months ago when I found an app for it in the Android market. I actually love Vevo, I am a huge fan and I think that it is a great idea! Perhaps it does take the place of MTV, but they have been out of commission for so long, that I don’t know if Vevo can even be considered as something that out MTV’s MTV.

 

Leave a Reply

