Does 3D Make Your Head Happy or Ache?

POST 21

Does 3D Make Your Head Happy Or Ache?

Posted by timothy on Wednesday March 30, @02:11AM
from the ache-ache-ache dept. 

MojoKid writes “Nintendo has quasi-acknowledged that its 3DS can cause headaches and should not be used by children under 7. The glasses-free 3D handheld gaming device launched this week. Meanwhile, new research commissioned by the Blu-ray Disc Association is trying to improve the health image of 3D. It’s research shows that the brain is more attentive when watching a 3D movie than when watching HD or SDTV, making the movie a more pleasurable experience. The issue, doctors say, is that 3D works by tricking the brain into making you think you are physically moving in relation to your surroundings. But you aren’t. So your inner ear is not experiencing the movement that corresponds to what the eyes are seeing. This doesn’t normally happen in real life. No one would deny that 3D is more immersive, that’s why people like it, particularly for gaming. But the question is … does the brain love 3D or not? Answer: not really.”

My Take:

I know that this article is small in comparison to others I have posted, but I find it to be intriguing. Originally this article was meant to illustrate the special feature on the new Nintendo DS, 3D. Soon I found that they were really addressing 3D as a whole, not just for the new hand-held gaming system. When I have gone to 3D movies, it takes a good amount of time for my eyes to become adjusted. I think my first real 3D feature length film was Avatar which I saw one year ago. At first I was totally out of it, my eyes were in a sense, bugging out. I wasn’t sure if I really liked this type of an effect. However after some time I began to really get into it. I loved it. When I read this article I thought it was interesting how 3D makes our mind believe that we are physically moving without actually moving. Ingenious! I had always wondered why we liked it so much. We feel like we are an actual part of the movie or, in this articles case, game. Even though we may really enjoy it, our brain sure doesn’t. No wonder it took me a good while to get adjusted.

Leave a Reply

