Best in Film 2

POST 6

This is the second half of the television special: “ABC News and People Magazine’s Best in Film: The Greatest Movies of Our Time”. These next 5 categories represent the last hour and show the top 5 winners within each respected category.

Best Film, Best Sci-Fi Film, Best Musical, Best Action Film, Greatest Film Character, Best Horror Film, Best Chick Flick, Greatest Screen Kiss, Best Comedy, Best Animated Film, Best Suspense/Thriller, Most Romantic Screen Couple, Greatest Line, Best Western Film, Best Political/Historic Film.

Best Action Film:

5. Gladiator

4. Die Hard

3. Lord of the Rings

2. The Dark Knight

1. Indiana Jones and the Raiders of the Lost Ark

Wow! This was my absolute favorite category! The voters couldn’t have picked a better set of 5 to represent the best in action. The top three would also be in my top favorite action movies. “LOTR” and “The Dark Knight” are my favorite movies represented above, these two definitely deserved their titles! They really do make action history. Who could go wrong with Indiana Jones?? Harrison Ford really made those movies. I don’t know of anyone else who could have been a better pick.

Best Suspense/Thriller:

5. Pulp Fiction

4. The Shining

3. Psycho

2. Jaws

1.  The Silence of the Lambs

Out of these 5 movies, I have only seen 1. Jaws. I watched this for the first time when I was in High School. I was camping. The adults and I were engaged in a discussion about movies. I had said that I have never seen the movie Jaws. All of the adults were boggled. This was an important past time for them and they couldn’t believe that I had not seen it yet. Keep in mind that these adults were in their 30’s, 40’s and 50’s. In other words, they had much more experience than I. It just so happened that someone had brought the movie with them. We watched it. This movie was one of the scariest these adults had ever seen as children and teenagers. I watched it with the intent and excitement of being scared. No such thing happened. According to film standards, this movie today would be a joke. Back then, it was horrific. Although I have never seen any of the other movies, I know that they are deserving only through word of mouth. From what I have heard, these movies have made their mark on history and pieces of their script or score can be easily recognized.

Best Animated Film:

5. Fantasia

4. Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs

3. Beauty and the Beast

2. Toy Story

1. The Lion King

If any of these films were not Disney-made I would have died! The best animated movies come from Disney, no question about it! They know what they are doing when it comes to this category. It is amazing to me that their very first animated feature-length film, “Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs” has done so well and was voted to be in the top 5. In most cases, the first huge project that you produce is the worst and that it can only get better as time goes on. This was definitely not the case with Disney. They started out as strong as ever and the tradition has made a legacy that no other animated film company could ever match. They are a powerhouse and it could not be more evident than within this category.

Most Memorabel Movie Character:

5. Indiana Jones

4. Hannibal Lecter

3. Scarlet O’Hara

2. James Bond

1. Forrest Gump

I would have to say that I did not expect this category either, however I think that it is a perfect one. I would have to agree with all of these. Perhaps not the placement in my opinion is correct, but as I look back and see how these movies have rated thus far, I would say that they were spot on. James Bond and Forrest Gump did not make any prior appearances, but this top 5 would not have been complete if they were replaced. Most of these characters, maybe with the exception of Hannibal, hold a special place in our hearts as movie goers. Much of what we say and do are affected by these movie characters. Several times when I introduce myself as Clarissa people often say, “Hello Clarise” just like Hannibal. In every day situations we use references from these specific characters. We say their lines, we dress like them, we want to own a fedora, a leather jacket and a whip, we look to them for inspiration. These 5 are the most memorable movie characters.

Best Film:

5. E.T.

4. Casablanca

3. The Godfather

2. The Wizard of Oz

1. Gone with the Wind

Frankly, I don’t really see what everyone else sees about “Gone with the Wind”. When I was younger I decided to watch it because I had heard so many good things about it. During the intermission between tapes I just could not bring myself to put in the next tape. It was so boring. It couldn’t catch my attention in any sense. I guess there must be something that I am missing when it comes to the opinions of everyone else. The best movie in the world? No. Not in my opinion. Although when it comes to the history of film this movie did pave a way to how we view film today. It was a definite gateway to the future of entertainment. However, I am not exactly sure what most of these movies are doing in one of the top 5 spots for the best film ever made. I think that there could have been better choices.

Looking back at the overall theme of movies that were represented, several of them appear to be much older films. I can’t help but think that the pool of judges and those who voted were in their later stages of adulthood. I am sure that if the adults my age were to vote, the outcomes would have been much different. Even though I did not agree with several of the movies within each category, I know that they were very justified with each position. Gone with the Wind may not be the best movie by today’s standards, but if you look at it throughout time, it has stood the test. Even though it is not the highest grossing box office film, it very well could be the overall most popular film. Just because I think that there could have been a better best film of all time, doesn’t mean that it is what others think. Even though it should be…

These were just my thoughts of each category and the films chosen to represent them. For a full list of the winners of these categories as well as the others that were not shown in the special go to:

http://abcnews.go.com/entertainment/best_film/

Leave a Reply

