Best In Film 1

POST 5

This will be what I thought of the first hour of the television special: “ABC News and People Magazine’s Best in Film: The Greatest Movies of Our Time”. The statistics were comprised over a period of about two months, late November to early January, with about 500,000 people that voted online on a list of films that were nominated by a selected panel in each category.

http://abc.go.com/shows/best-in-film-the-greatest-movies-of-our-time?cid=showsitelinks_search

Here is a list of each category. Not every one was presented in the special but the results can still be found online.

Best Film, Best Sci-Fi Film, Best Musical, Best Action Film, Greatest Film Character, Best Horror Film, Best Chick Flick, Greatest Screen Kiss, Best Comedy, Best Animated Film, Best Suspense/Thriller, Most Romantic Screen Couple, Greatest Line, Best Western Film, Best Political/Historic Film.

http://abcnews.go.com/entertainment/best_film/

During the first hour of this television special 5 categories were presented. Here are the results:

Best Comedy:

5. Tootsie

4. Young Frankenstein

3. Some Like it Hot

2. Monty Python and the Search For the Holy Grail

1. Airplane!

I was really excited that they started off with this category. I love comedy movies, they are some of my favorites. I was surprised however with the results within this category, however I have only seen Monty Python and I know from my own experience that it deserved to be in the top 5. Although I have heard of these other movies, I do not think that according to the comedy standard that is being presented today in movies such as, “The Hangover”, “Due Date”, “Superbad”, etc. that they would be accepted today as being candidates for the best in comedy.

Best Musical:

5. West Side Story

4. Singing in the Rain

3. The Wizard of Oz

2. Grease

1. The Sound of Music

I wasn’t completely surprised with this category. There are a limited amount of musical movies and I feel that they are well represented within this particular category. I do think that the placement for these films was very accurate.

Best Sci-Fi Film:

5. Close Encounters

4. The Matrix

3. E.T.

2. Avatar

1. Star Wars

Again, I have only seen two of these films, “Avatar” and “Star Wars”, but I have heard several good things about “E.T.”, “The Matrix” and “Close Encounters”. Seeing these films as being considered in the top 5 greatest sci-fi films of all time, I would now really like to watch the ones I have not seen. I want to know really know why they were chosen.

Greatest Screen Kiss:

5. Casablanca

4. From Here to Eternity

3. An Officer and a Gentleman

2. Lady and the Tramp

1. Gone with the Wind

This category had me stumped. Again, I have only seen a few of these, but from I have seen and know, I really don’t think I would have chosen Gone with the Wind as the greatest screen kiss in film. As they showed the clip over and over, I couldn’t help but cringe every time I saw this kiss! This looked more like rape to me, something completely opposite from love. I have no idea how that could have been considered romantic. On the other hand, I was completely surprised to see that the kiss in “Lady and the Tramp” was even on this list, even more so that it received the #2 spot. I found this to be unexpected, but very deserving. So far in the game all the films were live action movies and not animated features. I was very pleased with this result.

Greatest Line:

5. Casablanca: “Here’s looking at you kid.”

4. When Harry Met Sally: “I’ll have what she’s having.”

3. The Godfather: “I’m gonna make him an offer he can’t refuse.”

2. Sudden Impact: “Go ahead, make my day.”

1. Gone with the Wind: “Frankly my dear, I don’t give a d*mn.”

I loved this category. It would have been very difficult for me to be able to choose which line would receive the #1 spot, but I think that overall, those that voted did a good job. All of these lines I could recite, even if I had never seen the movie. Most of these have received an R rating and I have chosen not to watch those, but I immediately knew the reference once clips from the movie were being shown. That is how good screenwriters can be.

Leave a Reply

